FREE YOUR MIND – IT’S D.I.Y. TIME

Ahhh the weekend. That sweet seven-letter word that forces my shoulders to relax and my brain to stop. Two days of rest and spending my energy on extra things that I feel too guilty to tackle during the busy work week. It really is a beautiful thing, the weekend.

You know what else weekends are good for? Gettin’ crafty, y’all. I don’t know about you, but I’m a sucker for a good ole’ DIY project.  I literally get excited when I see those three capital letters together. It’s like they’re calling my name, saying, “Come, come, Rebekah. Free your mind. Grab your scissors. Forget all your troubles and lose yourself in twine and spray paint.” And when it involves easy instructions, little money and effort, a lot of functionality, and BIG bang, it’s pretty much a done deal.

Here are a few links I came across recently that looked like easy projects to tackle and, in my opinion, are just straight-up great ideas. Try your hand at one of them or store them away for later. Click on the images to link up to their sources.

SPRAY PAINTED ANIMAL MAGNETS. JUST STOP.
Screen Shot 2012-08-31 at 4.55.16 PM

PAINTED WALL FRAMES. ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES.
Screen Shot 2012-08-31 at 5.49.48 PM

MINI SUCCULENT PARTY FAVORS. OR JUST FOR YOUR FRONT PORCH.
Screen Shot 2012-08-31 at 5.50.55 PM

TURN AN OLD TEE INTO A TANK. WITHOUT A SEWING MACHINE.
Screen Shot 2012-08-31 at 5.52.28 PM

DRAB TO FAB WITH GOLD METALLIC SPRAY PAINT.
Screen Shot 2012-08-31 at 5.53.27 PM

Tried one of these this weekend? Have another DIY project that is genious? Share in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

