BEING MY OWN BOSS + THANKFUL

desk birdseye

Well, I’ve returned to the blogging world from a long hiatus, and let me tell you it’s good to be back. When you don’t see me for a while on here, you can bet that it’s because my time is occupied by designing for clients and actually getting work done, and I think it’s safe to say that’s a good thing! I’ve recently taken on a three-month freelancing project for a church in Dallas, and on top of that I’ve been working on several orders for invitations and other projects, and it’s definitely forced me to be in creative tunnel vision for the last few weeks. But I am so thankful and am learning priceless lessons along the way.

When I started this business and began “promoting” myself as an official designer, I didn’t realize the amount of time, organization, planning, and responsibility I’d be… well, responsible for. What started out as a hobby has turned into a growing business, and that means doing a lot more than clicking away in InDesign and picking out pretty fonts. I have to be my own boss, set my own schedule, make my own deadlines, set my own prices, stay on top of things, all the while trying to balance life at home, making meals, savoring time with my husband, loving and serving God in the midst of all things, and knowing when to shut the computer off at the end of the day.

Finding the – dare I use the cliche – “balance” between it all can be a challenge and something that shifts and changes depending on the season. Nonetheless, I am thankful that life is not at all boring or uneventful and that I even have things important enough to balance and give my time to. And I am thankful that though I cannot possibly navigate this life and all its responsibilities on my own, the Lord’s strength and care for me is enough and I can enjoy resting in not really being the one in control after all. And I’m pretty sure that’s a good problem to have.

2 thoughts on “BEING MY OWN BOSS + THANKFUL

Leave a Reply

