GOOD EATS: SALMON CAKES RECIPE

I love to cook, and I have to say there is something artistic about putting together a beautiful and tasty dish, don’t you think? Today my friends, we will be spending a little time in the kitchen, so grab a recipe card and a pen, and read on.

Chris and I are on the Paleo bandwagon, and if you don’t know what that is, it’s a glorified term for eating real, clean, unprocessed food. There are a lot of different views on the Paleo Diet (a.k.a. primal blueprint, caveman diet, etc.), but we like to just stick to the basic principles of what we can eat (meat, veggies, some fruit, lots of good fat, nuts and seeds, raw dairy, and little starch) and remembering what is bad for our bodies (grains, flour, sugar, lots of starches, legumes, and anything processed). BUT I’d hate to get on a soapbox and scaaaaare you away, so let’s just stick to this Paleo-friendly dish.

The other day, I modified a delish recipe from this blog and am excited to share it with you. It’s great for dinner over a bed of chopped purple cabbage OR for breakfast with an over-medium egg on top. I’ve tried it both ways and HELLO it was good.

Thanks to Mr. Disch for hand-modeling (Why he laughs at me for photographing my food is beyond me!). But really, who could argue how perfect this morning light is for photographing my breakfast??

INGREDIENTS:

14-oz. can of wild-caught salmon
1 Tbs. fat (coconut oil is my preferred choice)
1 Tbs. dijon mustard
1 Tbs. tangy hot sauce
1/3 cup chopped celery
1/3 cup diced onions
1/2 cup shredded sweet potatoes
1/3 cup chopped cilantro
2 eggs

DIRECTIONS:

1. Mix all ingredients together in a mixing bowl, and set aside.
2. Heat skillet to medium heat, and add fat.
3. With your hands, press mixture into patties about 1/2-inch thick.
4. Cook on skillet for about 4 minutes on each side.
5. Top with a few cilantro leaves, a squeeze of lime, and some hot sauce, and serve (for lunch/dinner on a bed of chopped cabbage or (for breakfast) with an over-medium egg on top.

Makes 5 large cakes.

** And for the record, we just picked up a package of Nestle break-and-bake cookies that we will DEVOUR tonight while vegging in front of a movie… Call me a walking contradiction, but hey, the Disches gotta LIVE IT UP sometimes!!!

7 thoughts on “GOOD EATS: SALMON CAKES RECIPE

  1. I was JUST researching healthy recipes to make for Adrian and I thought.. hm I wonder if Bekah’s updated her blog…. and BAM there’s an amazing recipe staring me in the face! Haha meant to me? Oh, most definitely. I will be trying this yummy salmon cake ASAP because this sounds delicious and easy enough for even me to pull off. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

  2. Friend, I just thought you should know that, over a year later, I still make these every few weeks. They are SO good… a McKinney family go-to meal.

  3. Pingback: Salmon Cakes with Parmesan Green Beans | the family bean

Leave a Reply

